Based in Cologne – active worldwide

Since we set up in 2005 we have developed into one of Germany’s leading production companies for television documentaries and magazine reports. We have produced over 70 documentaries and over 300 reports for television magazines. Whether investigating the search for raw materials in the ocean depths or the tropical rainforests, the global problems of water and possible solutions, alternatives for our health system, organised environmental crime or human rights abuses – our teams are out and about on all continents. But we’re just as committed to often unknown stories, destinies and scandals on our own doorstep. We invariably deliver everything – from the initial idea to shooting, from editing to completion – from a single source.

The team

We work together with experienced and prize-winning writers, directors, camera crews and film editors. It’s this successful teamwork that forms the backbone of our films.

THOMAS WEIDENBACH

MANAGING DIRECTOR, EXECUTIVE PRODUCER

Thomas has been making films since 1984 and set up Längengrad Filmproduktion in 2005. His passion is exploring the world through film.

SARAH ZIERUL

MANAGING DIRECTOR, EXECUTIVE PRODUCER

After studying Politics and Film and training at NDR, Sarah loves working together with writers, camera operators and editors to make strong subjects even stronger. She is convinced that a good film really can change the world.

KATJA STRÄTER

HEAD OF PRODUCTION

After years of experience as a production assistant and unit manager on various feature film and television productions, Katja joined Längengrad in 2008.

LAURA BLEIFUSS

PRODUCTION ASSISTANT

Combining a full throttle approach with an overall view and total commitment, Laura helps ensure that our productions run smoothly. As a Bachelor of Engineering she is also the right contact for technical questions, both large and small.

BEATRIX LANDMANN

ACCOUNTING

Figure it out! Beatrix studied Business Administration and has worked in the film industry since 1986.

ISABELLE ALBERT

FILM EDITOR

Every moment on screen counts. And has to work! Achieving this in the editing process has been Isabelle’s responsibility since 2005. She loves helping the writers to mould the most diverse subjects and creative ideas into stories.

ILKA AUS DER MARK

DIRECTOR

The stories Ilka likes to tell most are about people who impressively overcome the crises in their lives. She makes films mainly for the public broadcasting corporations and has been awarded many prizes for her work.

STEFFEN BOHN

CAMERAMAN

After an apprenticeship as a gardener and starting with Maths and Physics at university, Steffen joined Cologne’s JFC youth film club. Even during his Civilian Service he wanted to become a cameraman. He has pursued his freelance career since 1999 and is committed to people, culture, science and nature.

MICHAEL GÄRTNER

DIRECTOR

Since 1992 Michael has been a screenwriter and filmmaker, initially in the drama and series sector of ZDF. In 2006 he made a film about lions and has since devoted himself to making nature and animal films around the world. Not really surprising, since at one time he actually wanted to become a vet.

RÜDIGER HEIMLICH

AUTHOR

For the last 25 years, Rüdiger has worked for newspapers, radio and television with a focus on archaeology, history and music. He is also the author of several books. Most of all he would like to film all the world heritage sites.

MEIKE HEMSCHEMEIER

DIRECTOR, PRODUCER

Since studying Biology and Journalism, Meike now focuses largely on failings in Germany’s health system. She has written a book on the subject (‘Vorsicht Operation’) and has made a name for herself with many documentaries.

CHRISTIAN HEYNEN

DIRECTOR

His award-winning documentaries cover the whole gamut from A for ARD to Z for the Zurich Film Festival. For over 15 years Christian has constantly sought out new stories and exceptional people.

MICHAEL KERN

CAMERAMAN

Some stop and listen, others stop and look. Michael simply can’t stop looking.

SVEN KIESCHE

CAMERAMAN

For 30 years, Sven has been creatively active in the field of documentary film and science. Technophilic, innovative, experienced and constantly looking for new angles. A family man and an enthusiastic cook.

SEBASTIAN KOERNER

ANIMAL FILMAKER

As a biologist, Sebastian has devoted himself completely to filming Germany’s wild wolves. His films aim to provide objectivity in the debate about these controversial beasts of prey.

DANIEL MÜNTER

DIRECTOR, PRODUCER

After studying Physics and training at WDR, Daniel loves to immerse himself in new subjects, put exceptional people in front of the camera and look for unusual filmic perspectives.

SHI MING

AUTHOR

After studying Physics and training at WDR, Daniel loves to immerse himself in new subjects, put exceptional people in front of the camera and look for unusual filmic perspectives.

MAXIMILIAN NARKOVIC

FILM EDITOR

After training as a media designer and completing several film editing internships, Maximilian has been a freelance editor since 2011 – including for Längengrad. As a drummer he has a good feeling for timing and the use of music.

FRANK NISCHK

DIRECTOR

While still a biology student, he took part in expeditions up to the rainforests of Ecuador. Nowadays, as a journalist and filmmaker, he explores not only wildlife subjects but also human topics in the fields of science and technology – preferably worldwide.

HERBERT OSTWALD

DIRECTOR

Herbert started out as a radio reporter in Berlin and worked in the political department of a newspaper. For the last 20 years he has been making documentaries on nature and science topics. He’s interested in animals that tell us more about ourselves, our culture, society and politics.

MARC RIEMER

CAMERAMAN

Marc has worked as a freelance cameraman since 1999.

IRIS RIETDORF

DIRECTOR

After an internship and a degree in Economics, Iris joined Deutsche Welle TV in the early 1990s. For her, working on documentaries and magazine reports is the best job in the world. What she loves is finding and investigating interesting stories, meeting exciting people – and being privileged to tell others about them.

CLAUDIA RUBY

DIRECTOR

She knew as a child exactly what she wanted to do: follow in the footsteps of the celebrated German zoologist Bernhard Grzimek. As a biologist she found her way into television. After an internship at WDR, she’s now an environmental and medical journalist, who challenges supposedly unassailable truths.

ERIK SICK

CAMERAMAN

As a freelance cameraman for Längengrad, Erik is out and about around the world.

JAN WILM SCHMÜLLING

FILM EDITOR

With his enquiring and inquisitive frame of mind, Jan Wilm immerses himself in the images and their language, in the people and their stories. And he doesn't resurface until the film has found its own specific and expressive form.

MARC SCHUBERT

FILM EDITOR

ISMENI WALTER

DIRECTOR

As a marine biologist, television journalist and professor of environmental journalism and new media, Ismeni is passionate about addressing painful issues – and showing what can be done about them.

TANJA WINKLER

DIRECTOR

After a degree in Biology and an internship, Tanja began working in 1998 as a writer and editor for various science media – from online to film. She defines her job as sticking her nose into other people’s business, learning something new and passing it on to others through well-made stories.

TOP
error: Content is protected !!

Mitten in Köln - weltweit unterwegs

Seit unserer Gründung im Jahr 2005 haben wir uns zu einer der renommiertesten Produktionsfirmen für TV-Dokumentationen in Deutschland entwickelt und mehr als 70 Dokumentarfilme hergestellt. Darüber hinaus haben wir mehr als 300 Magazinbeiträge produziert, vor allem für „W wie Wissen“ (ARD), „Odysso“ (SWR), „Quarks“ (WDR), „Xenius“ (Arte), „Monitor“ (ARD) und „Terra Xpress“ (ZDF). Ob es sich um die Suche nach Rohstoffen in der Tiefsee oder in den tropischen Regenwäldern handelt, um weltweite Wasserprobleme und deren Lösung oder Alternativen für unser Gesundheitssystem, um organisierte Umweltkriminalität oder Menschenrechtsverletzungen - unsere Teams sind auf allen Kontinenten unterwegs. Genauso engagiert befassen wir uns mit den oft unbekannten Geschichten, Schicksalen und Skandalen vor der eigenen Haustür. Stets liefern wir von der Idee über die Dreharbeiten und den Schnitt bis zur kompletten Endfertigung alles aus einer Hand.

Das Team

Wir arbeiten mit erfahrenen und vielfach preisgekrönten Autoren, Regisseuren, Kameraleuten und Filmeditoren zusammen. Die erfolgreiche Teamarbeit bildet das Rückgrat unserer Filme.

THOMAS WEIDENBACH

GESCHÄFTSFÜHRER, PRODUZENT

Er macht seit 1984 Filme, hat 2005 die Längengrad Filmproduktion ins Leben gerufen und liebt es, filmisch die Welt zu erkunden.

SARAH ZIERUL

GESCHÄFTSFÜHRERIN, PRODUZENTIN

Hat Politik- und Filmwissenschaft studiert und beim NDR volontiert, liebt es, gemeinsam mit Autoren, Kameraleuten und Cuttern starke Themen noch stärker zu machen und findet, dass ein guter Film durchaus die Welt verändern kann.

KATJA STRÄTER

PRODUKTIONSLEITERIN

Jahrzehntelange Erfahrung im Bereich Aufnahmeleitung und Produktionsassistenz bei diversen Kino- und Fernsehproduktionen. Seit 2008 bei Längengrad tätig.

LAURA BLEIFUSS

PRODUKTIONSASSISTENTIN

Vollgas und Durchblick finden hier ihre Schnittmenge, sie trägt mit vollem Einsatz zum reibungslosen Ablauf unserer Produktionen bei. Als Bachelor of Engineering auch Ansprechpartnerin für große und kleine technische Fragen.

BEATRIX LANDMANN

BUCHHALTUNG

Zahlen bitte! Sie hat BWL studiert und arbeitet seit 1986 in der Filmbranche.

ISABELLE ALBERT

FILMEDITORIN

Jeder Moment im Film zählt. Und soll wirken! Diese Wirkung im Schnitt zu erzielen, macht sich Isabelle seit 2005 zur Aufgabe. Besonders gefällt ihr dabei, gemeinsam mit Autoren verschiedenste Inhalte und gestalterische Ideen in Geschichten zu gießen.

ILKA AUS DER MARK

AUTORIN

Sie erzählt am liebsten Geschichten über Menschen, die Krisen in ihrem Leben auf beeindruckende Weise meistern. In erster Linie realisiert sie Filme für den öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunk, für die sie zahlreiche Preise erhalten hat.

STEFFEN BOHN

KAMERAMANN

Bewarb sich nach Gärtnerausbildung sowie Mathe- und Physikstudium beim Jugendfilmclub Köln. Hatte schon als Zivi den Wunsch, Kameramann zu werden, arbeitet seit 1999 selbständig und begeistert sich für Menschen, Kultur, Wissenschaft und Natur.

MICHAEL GÄRTNER

AUTOR

Er ist seit 1992 Autor und Filmemacher, zunächst im Spielfilm- und Seriensektor im ZDF. 2006 drehte er einen Film über Löwen und ist seitdem als Filmemacher Natur und Tieren verfallen, rund um die Welt. Kein Wunder, eigentlich wollte er mal Tierarzt werden.

RÜDIGER HEIMLICH

AUTOR

Arbeitet seit 25 Jahren für Zeitungen, Hörfunk und Fernsehen über Archäologie, Geschichte und Musik, schreibt mitunter Bücher und würde doch am liebsten das ganze Weltkulturerbe verfilmen.

MEIKE HEMSCHEMEIER

AUTORIN, PRODUCERIN

Nach Studium der Biologie und Journalistik fühlt sie heute vor allem den Missständen im deutschen Gesundheitswesen auf den Zahn, hat darüber ein Buch geschrieben (‚Vorsicht Operation‘) und zahlreiche Dokumentationen realisiert, die für Aufsehen sorgten.

CHRISTIAN HEYNEN

AUTOR

Von A wie ARD bis Z wie Züricher Filmfestival laufen seine prämierten Dokus, in denen er seit über 15 Jahren immer auf der Suche nach neuen Geschichten und ungewöhnlichen Menschen ist.

MICHAEL KERN

KAMERAMANN

Die einen hören hin, die anderen sehen hin und er kann einfach nicht aufhören hinzusehen.

SVEN KIESCHE

KAMERAMANN

Seit 30 Jahren kreativ unterwegs im Bereich Dokumentation und Wissenschaft. Technikaffin, innovativ, erfahren, stets auf der Suche nach neuen Blickwinkeln. Familienmensch und Hobbykoch.

SEBASTIAN KOERNER

TIERFILMER

Der Biologe hat sich voll und ganz dem Filmen von Deutschlands wilden Wölfen verschrieben. Mit seinen Bildern will er die Diskussionen um die umstrittenen Raubtiere versachlichen.

DANIEL MÜNTER

AUTOR, PRODUCER

Nach Physikstudium und WDR-Volontariat liebt er es, sich in neue Themen hinein zu wühlen, spannende Menschen vor die Kamera zu bekommen und nach außergewöhnlichen filmischen Perspektiven zu suchen.

SHI MING

AUTOR

Geboren in Peking, nach Germanistik- und Jurastudium in China lebt er seit 1990 in Deutschland als Journalist, Publizist und Berater.

MAXIMILIAN NARKOVIC

FILMEDITOR

Er ist nach Ausbildung zum Mediengestalter und mehreren Schnittpraktika seit 2011 freiberuflicher Editor und schneidet seitdem auch für Längengrad. Hat als Drummer ein gutes Gefühl für Timing und Musikeinsatz.

FRANK NISCHK

AUTOR

Schon als Biologiestudenten zog es ihn auf Expedition bis in die Regenwälder Ecuadors. Heute erkundet er als Journalist und Filmemacher nicht nur das Leben der Tiere, sondern auch Menschliches wie Wissenschaft und Technik – am liebsten weltweit.

HERBERT OSTWALD

AUTOR

War nach seinem Biologiestudium in Berlin Reporter beim SFB-Hörfunk und Politikredakteur der Tageszeitung "Neue Zeit". Für DW-TV konzipierte und moderierte er eine Tierserie. Autor zahlreicher prämierter Natur- und Wissenschaftsdokus, auch für National Geographic und terramater. 

MARC RIEMER

KAMERAMANN

Arbeitet seit 1999 als freier Kameramann.

IRIS RIETDORF

AUTORIN

Es ist der schönste Job der Welt, findet sie, seit sie nach Volontariat und Wirtschaftsstudium Anfang der 1990er bei der Deutschen Welle TV landete. Seitdem arbeitet sie für Dokumentationen und Magazine und liebt es, interessante Geschichten zu entdecken, nachzuhaken, spannende Menschen zu treffen - und anderen davon erzählen zu dürfen.

CLAUDIA RUBY

AUTORIN

Als Kind wusste sie genau, was sie werden will: Nachfolgerin von Bernhard Grzimek. Als Biologin ist sie dann beim Fernsehen gelandet. Sie hat beim WDR volontiert und hinterfragt als Umwelt- und Medizinjournalistin vermeintlich feststehende Wahrheiten.

ERIK SICK

KAMERAMANN

Als freier Kameramann für Längengrad auf den verschiedensten Breitengraden unterwegs.

JAN WILM SCHMÜLLING

FILMEDITOR

Neugierig und wissbegierig taucht er ein in die Bilder und ihre Sprache, Menschen und ihre Geschichten. Er taucht nicht wieder auf, bevor der Film seine präzise und ausdrucksstarke Form gefunden hat.

MARC SCHUBERT

FILMEDITOR

ISMENI WALTER

AUTORIN

Meeresbiologin, Fernsehjournalistin und Professorin für Umweltjournalismus und neue Medien. Brennt für Stücke, die den Finger in die Wunde legen und gleichzeitig erzählen, was man tun kann, um sie zu heilen.

TANJA WINKLER

AUTORIN

Nach Biologiestudium und Volontariat begann sie 1998 als Autorin und Redakteurin für verschiedene Wissenschaftsformate zu arbeiten - von Online bis Film. Für sie der Beruf schlechthin: Man darf seine Nase in fremde Töpfe stecken, Neues verstehen und davon in gut gemachten Geschichten erzählen.

OBEN
error: Content is protected !!